October Review

I realize I already have a post about October, but I didn’t go into too much detail and here I will attempt to.

October was a month of brainstorming. Brainstorming my story, my music, my dances, my dancers. I brainstormed and mulled over just about everything in this production. If there is anything I’ve learned when creating art it is balance. In this production (and art in general) there is this constant balance of three main things. The first is realizing what you want in your art. The second, what resources are available to you. Third, what would be good for your art. I do not mean morally good, but good being in the successfulness of your art. In terms of choreography one might believe a certain move looks cool, but maybe to the audience the subtly is lost. Or perhaps your communication of your idea is lost in what you are trying to present to the audience. The fourth one is more of a plus one as it is not always relevant. Sometimes there are guidelines one has to follow and that is another thing one must keep in mind.  Sacrifices will have to be made over what you want, what you can get, and what would be good for the production. There is not a specific formula for art, it is different every time.

When I realized I wanted to choreograph dances I also realized I had never actually choreographed before. Imagine my panic. I don’t. I felt it. Still, I would like to think I am a very calm person for every day things and dire circumstances, this situation being of the latter, and so I forced myself to breathe and research. I actually find research to be a somewhat calming endeavor, though often times I find myself sidetracked. In my brief research I came across three articles/webpages that I thought were the most insightful. Here I present them to you.

https://socialdance.stanford.edu/Syllabi/Choreography.htm

This one is particularly detailed, even if it is toward social dancing.

http://prairieschoolofdance.com/how-to-choreograph-your-own-dance/

http://www.dancespirit.com/2011/03/piece_by_piece_tips_for_first-time_choreographers/

The content of all these are of course property of the original owners. I had nothing to do with said content in any capacity, except to read and share it.

Leave a Reply

